Author info

A.D. Garrett is the pseudonym for prize-winning novelist Margaret Murphy, working in consultation with policing and forensics expert, Helen Pepper.

Author Margaret Murphy

Margaret Murphy

Margaret Murphy has written nine psychological thrillers – both stand-alone and police series. Her work has been published in the UK and the USA, and in translation across Europe, receiving accolades from broadsheets and tabloid newspapers alike, as well as starred reviews from Publishers’ Weekly and Booklist in the United States. She has been a countryside ranger, science teacher and dyslexia specialist, and is currently an RLF Writing Fellow at the University of Manchester, and Reading Round Lector. A CWA Short Story Dagger winner, Margaret has also been shortlisted for the First Blood critics’ award for crime fiction as well as the CWA Dagger in the Library. Margaret is a past Chair of the CWA, and founder of Murder Squad.

In 2013, writing as A.D. Garrett, Margaret began a new forensic series featuring Professor Nick Fennimore and DCI Kate Simms. Everyone Lies, which Ann Cleeves rated ‘thriller writing at its best’, was a bestseller, and Believe No One, described by Publishers’ Weekly as a ‘stellar thriller’, has garnered much praise. Truth Will Out, the third in the series, is now available in paperback.

  • Buy Margaret’s psychological thrillers in eFormat at Amazon

Helen Pepper

Helen Pepper is a Senior Lecturer in Policing at Teesside University. She has been an analyst, Forensic Scientist, Scene of Crime Officer, CSI, and Crime Scene Manager.

Helen Pepper

Helen Pepper

As a Crime Scene Investigator, she examined over 3000 crime scenes, ranging from thefts and fires to rapes and murders. Later, as Crime Scene Manager for Durham Police, she supervised CSIs in over 50 major incidents. An author in her own right, Helen has co-authored, as well as contributed to, professional policing texts. Her expertise is in great demand with crime writers: she has been a judge for the CWA’s Non-Fiction Dagger award since 2010, and is Forensic Consultant on both the Vera and Shetland TV series.